SeansRun Weekend
  Full Schedule
  Packet Pick-up / Registration
  Jaime's Race for People with Special Needs
  Full Schedule
  Packet Pick up / Registration
  5k & Meghan's Mile
  Battle of the Belts
  Prevention Education Expo
  Tribute to Survivors
  Grant and Scholarship Winners
HomeContact UsVolunteer FAQSafety Tree



Back to News Archive

Sean’s Run Scholarship Winners Announced

March 2, 2012 – Six high school seniors, including four from Columbia County, have been selected as recipients of Sean Patrick French Memorial Scholarships. The scholarship fund, administered by the Berkshire Taconic Community Foundation, was established from a portion of the proceeds raised during the inaugural Sean’s Run in 2002 and continues to be supported by donations from the family and friends of Sean French.

In the past ten years 80 deserving seniors have been awarded scholarships from the fund. A five-person selection panel convened by the Berkshire Taconic Community Foundation reviews the applications and determines the recipients.

The two scholarships from the Sean Patrick French Memorial Scholarship Fund reserved for Chatham High School students will be awarded to Eva Chaitman and Cole Samuel Gleason . This scholarship rewards community service and demonstrated compassion for all people. Each will receive $1,000.

Awardees of the Love of Running Scholarships include Abigail Wheeler and Samuel Mackerer, both of Chatham High School.  Students from Columbia County who have run on Cross Country or Track and Field teams were invited to apply. Each applicant was required to submit an essay describing how their high school experience on their Cross Country or Track & Field team has prepared them for the challenges of college. The applications were accompanied by a letter of recommendation from the student’s running coach. Each will be awarded $500.

The two Good Sports Scholarships that are awarded to Cross Country runners from Section II are going to Kristen Bassler and Elijah Murphy, both from Berne-Knox-Westerlo HS . Each XC runner who is selected by a panel of Section II Cross Country Coaches as a Section II Good Sportsmanship Awardee is invited to apply.  Applicants were asked to describe two specific incidences that demonstrate their good sportsmanship during the Cross Country season. Each will be awarded $500.

All six scholarship winners will be recognized during the opening ceremony of Sean’s Run, on Sunday, April 28th. 





The Event | Sponsor Info | About Us and Sean | Grants | Scholarships | Battle of the Belts | Latest News | Home

Copyright 2007-2017 © Sean's Run. All rights reserved.